The Atomic Energy Regulatory Council (Council) of Sri Lanka is a Statutory Body functioning under the Ministry of Power and Energy which was established by the Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Act No.40 of 2014.   It has the responsibility of ensuring safety in the use of nuclear technology for medical, industrial, agricultural and research purposes.

New Act of Sri Lanka Atomic Energy

The Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Authority Act Number 19 of 1969, under which the Atomic Energy Authority (AEA) was established,  has been repealed and two institutions – The Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Board and The Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Regulatory Council, have been established by the Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Act, No. 40 of 2014. The new Act was published as a Supplement to Part II of the Gazette of the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka of November 07th, 2014.  

The above Act has delegated the AERC  the responsibility of ensuring the safety of the public,  the workers and the environment from potentially harmful effects of ionizing radiation by establishing and maintaining a regulatory regime.  It is responsible for licensing of all users of radiation and radioisotopes, conducting safety inspections, controlling import and export of radioactive materials, regulating the transport of radioactive materials, meeting national obligations of international treaties Sri Lanka has entered in to relating to nuclear technology, and training personnel on radiation protection.  Approximately 200 licences will be issued annually and 150 safety inspections will be conducted.

The Act empowers the Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Board (AEB) to carry out activities to promote and encourage the use of Nuclear Science and Technology for national development purposes.  It permits the beneficial and peaceful applications of nuclear science and technology in health, industry, environment and agriculture, for national development within Sri Lanka.


Director General of the Council

Mr. H.L.Anil Ranjith, was appointed as the first Director General of the Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Regulatory Council (Council) by Mr. Ranjith Siyabalapitiya, honourable Minister of Power and Renewable Energy.  Mr. Ranjith assumed duties on 6th November, 2015.

He has obtained his first degree in BSc (Physical Science) with an honour in 1985 from the University of Colombo and an MSc degree in Nuclear Science in 1996 from the University of Colombo.

Mr. Ranjith has joined the Atomic Energy Authority of Sri Lanka (AEA) (predecessor of the Council) as a Scientific Officer on 1st of June, 1987 and had worked there until the Atomic Energy Authority was abolished with the enactment of new Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Act No.40 of 2014. He had worked as the Director (Radiation Protection and Regulations) at the AEA when he joined the Council on 1st January, 2015.

He has obtained specialized training on radiation protection and nuclear security from the International Atomic Energy Agency fellowships programmes and Government of Japan scientist exchange programme. He has participated in IAEA missions to other countries as an expert on radiation protection and attended IAEA consultancy meetings to develop technical guidance documents on nuclear security.

Mr. Ranjith had worked as a member of team appointed to draft Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Act no. 40 of 2014 which came into operation from 1st January, 2015, and   directly involved in development of Ionizing Radiation Protection Regulations of 2000.

Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Authority and Sri Lanka Atomic Energy Regulatory Council had successfully implemented radioactive source security programme in collaboration with US Department of Energy under its Global Material Security programme, radioactive waste repatriation programme, licensing and inspection programme of radiation sources and radiation source import and export control programme under the leadership of Mr. Ranjith.

Mr. Ranjith is a visiting lecturer for postgraduate institute of medicine of University of Colombo, postgraduate institute of science of University of Peradeniya and Sir John Kotalawa Defence University.